Your UD Computing Account | IT GUIDE

UD students, faculty and staff are assigned a UD username and password, giving you access to many campus systems and services. Watch the video below to learn more.
 

UDit's Guide To: UD Computing Accounts


Common UD Systems and Services

What happens to my account when I leave UD?

  • Employee accounts are deleted after your final pay; student accounts remain active for 450 days after graduation.
     
  • Maintain a personal email account (Yahoo, Gmail, etc.) for non-work-related communications. Students should use a personal email account for resumes and formal contact information.
     
  • Once your account has been deleted, you won’t be able to access UD Gmail, Porches, or files you’ve created/saved in UD cloud storage (e.g., Google Drive, Box).
     
  • Employee files stored in a Box "personal" workspace folder outlive their UD computing account for a period of time so supervisors can reassign access to important job-related files. Move and save important content to an appropriate departmental shared folder prior to your departure. Files placed in a departmental shared folder will remain as long as the shared folder has not been deleted.
     
  • Files stored in a Google Drive are eventually deleted with the departing student / employee’s Google Workspace account. Move and save important files stored in your Google Drive to an appropriate Shared drive prior to your departure. Files placed in a Shared drive will remain as long as the Shared drive has not been deleted.
     
  • Consider exporting / make copies of important Google Contacts. Contacts are eventually deleted with the departing student / employee’s Google Workspace account.
     
  • Transfer ownership of your Zoom meetings and/or webinars to another person in the office or on your team so they can continue to use these meetings and webinars without any URL changes.
     

Additional Resources

Google Drive: Moving Files from My Drive to Shared Drives

Box: Moving and Copying Files & Folders

Google Contacts: Export, back up, or restore contacts

Transferring Ownership of Zoom Meetings and Webinars

IT General Help Request

Was this helpful?
0% helpful - 4 reviews

Details

Article ID: 46738
Created
Tue 1/23/18 1:09 PM
Modified
Thu 1/12/23 2:35 PM