Google Contacts

About

The contacts feature in your UD Google Workspace account is a way to store and organize contact information about the people with whom you communicate. Each contact can contain basic information like names, email addresses, and phone numbers, but can also include extended information, like physical addresses, employer, department or job title.

You can add, edit, and delete contacts and personal contact groups (called labels) within Contacts. Your personal contacts and labels are private however they can be delegated (shared) with other UD Gmail users.
 

Google Contacts Help >>

Accessing contacts >>

Searching for contacts >>

Differences between Personal Contact Groups (Labels) and Google Groups >>

Add, move, or import contacts >>

Edit or delete contacts >>

Creating personal contact groups (Labels) >>

Delegating (sharing) your contacts >>

Export, back up, or restore contacts >>

Merge duplicate contacts >>

Storage quotas for contacts >>

 

Accessing contacts

There are multiple ways to view contacts:

  • If you are already logged in to your UD Google account, click Apps (3 x 3 grid) in the upper right corner of any of the Google Apps services, then click Contacts.

  • Go to the Side Panel (far right side of the UD Gmail inbox) and click on the Contacts icon.

  • Within a new message, click To, Cc or Bcc. This opens the Select contacts window and displays the contents of the My contacts (your contacts) label. To view all contacts, including the University of Dayton contacts list, click on the Manage labels drop down list and choose the All contacts label.
     

Searching for contacts

  • Access the contacts using one of the options listed in the Accessing contacts section of this article.

  • To search for a specific name, type the last name of the individual you wish to find in the Search for contacts field and press <ENTER>.

  • To view contacts from a specific label, click on the Manage labels drop down list and choose the appropriate contact label name.
     

Differences between Personal Contact Groups (Labels) and Google Groups


Personal Contact Group (Label)

Personal contact groups (labels) are created by you and have a name that represents multiple email addresses (i.e., you can type in the group name rather than typing in each individual email address). It does NOT have its own email address so it can only be used by you.

  • When you type the name of a Personal Contact Group (Label) in the "To" field of a new message, you have the option to select the label name. Once selected, the contact names associated with the label are added to the email.

  • A message sent using a personal contact group counts as X messages against your sending limits, where X = the number of individuals in your Personal Contact Group (Label).

Creating personal contact groups (Labels) >>
 

Google Group

A Google Group is created centrally by UDit and is similar to a listserv.  It is assigned its own email address so others can send messages to it. 

  • When you type the name of a Google Group in the "To" field of a new message, you will see something like "flyer_fans" <flyer_fans@udayton.edu>.

  • A message sent using a Google Group email address counts as one message against your sending limits.  Note, however, that each external (non-UD) email address in the Group is counted as one recipient.

More about Google Groups >>
 

Automatically add new contacts

If you email someone but you haven't added them as a contact, Google Contacts automatically saves their email address in your Other contacts group. Their email address will show up the next time you email them.

To view the settings, open your UD Gmail account, click the gear icon (upper right corner) and select See all settings. Scroll to the Create contacts for auto-complete section.

  • To enable: Select the When I send a message to a new person... option. Scroll to the bottom of the window and click Save Changes.

  • To disable: Select the I'll add contacts myself option. Scroll to the bottom of the window and click Save Changes.

 

Storage quotas for contacts

Because problems can occur if you have an extremely large number of contacts, Google enforces quota restrictions on the number of contacts (maximum of 25,000), as well as the amount of data that can be stored for each contact.

Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 47868
Created
Tue 2/6/18 1:10 PM
Modified
Tue 3/2/21 11:48 AM