Google Chrome: Bookmarks Missing Due to New Chrome Profile

Google Chrome (version 102 or newer) began displaying a pop-up window to users logging into their UD Google account:

If a user does not select Keep local browsing data (bookmarks, passwords, history, etc.) before clicking Continue, their bookmarks disappear.

Important: The University of Dayton does NOT view or manage your bookmarks, browsing history, passwords, or any other information stored in your Chrome profile. The information in the pop-up is misleading


Why the pop-up appears

Google's information about the update says:

"Chrome 102 brings better separation between personal and enterprise-managed data. When the user signs into a managed account, they will have the option to either keep existing browsing data separate, or merge it with the managed account. By default, the data is kept separate, so a new profile will be created. Or, if they choose, they can merge the existing profile into the managed account. This prevents inadvertent sharing of personal data with work accounts. The ManagedAccountsSigninRestriction policy can be used to hide the checkbox altogether, allowing admins to force users to create a separate work profile."

  • No policies or configurations have been changed. Google, not UD, made this language change.
  • The pop-up tries to make it clearer to you (as the user) that you are using Google Chrome via a Google account managed by the University of Dayton. UD does NOT manage your Chrome usage in any way.
  • The pop-up gives you the option to create a new profile for your UD account to avoid merging bookmarks, history, and passwords if you so choose.
     

Restoring your bookmarks

To restore your bookmarks, switch back to the Chrome profile you were previously using.
 

Switching your Chrome profile on a desktop computer:

  1. Open the Google Chrome browser.
     
  2. Click your Profile icon (i.e., the round image next to the three-dot menu icon) in the top right.
     
  3. Select the profile you were using previously under the Other profiles section. (Android and iOS devices have one Chrome profile).
     

Transferring bookmarks to another Chrome profile:

  1. Open the Google Chrome browser.
     
  2. Click your Profile icon (i.e., the round image next to the three-dot menu icon) in the top right and ensure that you are using the profile which contains the bookmarks you'd like to transfer. If it is not the correct one, select the profile under the Other profiles section.
     
  3. Click the three-dot menu icon to the right of the Profile icon.
     
  4. Hover over Bookmarks and select Bookmark manager.
     
  5. Click the three-dot menu icon in the upper-right corner of the page. This is not the same three-dot menu icon to the right of your Profile icon.
     
  6. Select Export bookmarks from the drop-down menu and save the file to your computer.
     
  7. Click your Profile icon in the top right again and select the other Chrome profile to where you'd like to transfer your bookmarks.
     
  8. Click the three-dot menu icon to the right of the Profile icon.
     
  9. Hover over Bookmarks in the drop-down menu, and select Bookmark manager.
     
  10. Click the three-dot menu icon in the upper-right corner of the page, select Import bookmarks, and open the bookmarks file you saved earlier.

Your bookmarks are under the Imported folder and can be rearranged as needed.

 

Was this helpful?
100% helpful - 2 reviews
Print Article

Details

Article ID: 146622
Created
Thu 6/23/22 12:28 PM
Modified
Fri 6/24/22 9:29 AM